Public Health and Social Jusitce

Criminal Justice System

criminal.jpgArticles and slide shows covering the criminal justice system, the prison-industrial complex, and capital punishment.

Slide Shows:

Correctional Health Care – Insung Min
Brief slide show from Dr Insung Min

*Incarceration Nation
Comprehensive slide show covering the US criminal justice system, including jails/prisons, racism, the war on drugs, prison health care, the prison-industrial complex, and the death penalty

Articles:

Death Penalty – History, Exonerations, and Moratoria
Comprehensive review article and commentary from Social Medicine, 2019. Also available at https://www.socialmedicine.info/index.php/socialmedicine/article/view/1063

death penalty – NEJM lte 3-06.doc
Unpublished letter on the death penalty

*Incaceration Nation – Medscape.doc
Article covering multiple facets of the US criminal justice system

syphilitic arrest case report
Case report re inmate with tertiary syphilis with comments on syphilis in the incarcerated

Television:

Episode 18. The death penalty: history, exonerations, and moratoria. Guest Ron Steiner, Oregonians for Alternatives to the Death Penalty. April, 2019. Available at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XUEkqmL4XX8. Also available as a podcast on KBOO radio at https://www.kboo.fm/media/72166-death-penalty-thou-shalt-not-kill.

External Links:

Center for Prisoner Health and Human Rights: http://www.prisonerhealth.org/

Change.org Criminal Justice Page: http://criminaljustice.change.org/

Death Penalty Information Center: http://www.deathpenaltyinfo.org/

Do No Harm Coalition: http://www.donoharmcoalition.org/

Equal Justice Initiative: https://eji.org/

Innocence Project: http://www.innocenceproject.org/

Moratorium Campaign: http://www.moratoriumcampaign.org

Murder Victims’ Families for Reconciliation (MVFR): www.facebook.com/mvfrus

National Coalition to Abolish the Death Penalty: http://www.ncadp.org/

National Prison Rape Elimination Commission Report: http://www.nprec.us/publication/

Oregonians for Alternatives to the Death Penalty: http://oadp.org/

Prison Activist Resource Center: http://www.prisonactivist.org/

Prison Ecology Project: http://nationinside.org/campaign/prison-ecology/

Prison Policy Initiative: https://www.prisonpolicy.org/

The Counted (People killed by police in the US): https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/ng-interactive/2015/jun/01/the-counted-police-killings-us-database

The Crying Tree, a novel by Naseem Rakha: http://naseemrakha.com/

Washington State Institute for Public Policy (Criminal Justice): http://www.wsipp.wa.gov/topic.asp?cat=10&subcat=0&dteSlct=0

Women in Prison, UK: http://www.womeninprison.org.uk/